Member for Isaacs

Earth Hour 2011

26 March 2011

Lights at Government sites around Australia will be turned off tonight as part of Earth Hour, the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, and the Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Mark Dreyfus, said today.

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency

Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency


Lights at Government sites around Australia will be turned off tonight as part of Earth Hour, the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, and the Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Mark Dreyfus, said today.

Mr Combet said Earth Hour was an important event because it raised public awareness about improving our energy efficiency – in the home, the workplace and in the community.

To get involved in the world’s largest climate change campaign, participants need to turn off all non- essential lights from 8.30pm local time for one hour.

Iconic sites including Old Parliament House, the Australian War Memorial will be affected, as well as Australian embassies and posts around the world.

“Australian Government agencies are committed to Earth Hour 2011,” Mr Dreyfus said. “One hundred per cent of agencies which report their energy use to the program for Energy Efficiency in Government Operations (EEGO) have registered to participate in Earth Hour again this year. These 126 agencies cover 3,720 Government sites and more than 6 million square metres of floor space.”

Mr Dreyfus said the success of events such as Earth Hour showed how important the environment was not only to Australians, but globally.

Earth Hour started in Australia and has become a global event.

“Earth Hour is a great example of how a simple idea can grow into something big,” Mr Dreyfus said.

“In just a few short years, this idea has taken the world by storm. It shows us that people are ready to do their part to meet the challenge of climate change.”

For information on Earth Hour 2011, visit



Department and Agencies committed to Earth Hour 2011:
• Administrative Appeals Tribunal
• Attorney-General's Department
• Australian Agency for International Development
• Australian Broadcasting Corporation
• Australian Bureau of Statistics
• Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
• Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
• Australian Communications and Media Authority
• Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
• Australian Crime Commission
• Australian Customs Service
• Australian Electoral Commission
• Australian Federal Police
• Australian Film, Television and Radio School
• Australian Fisheries Management Authority
• Australian Government Solicitor
• Australian Hearing
• Australian Human Rights Commission
• Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL)
• Australian Institute of Criminology
• Australian Institute of Family Studies
• Australian Institute of Health & Welfare
• Australian Institute of Marine Science
• Australian Law Reform Commission
• Australian National Audit Office
• Australian National Maritime Museum
• Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation
• Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
• Australian Prudential Regulation Authority
• Australian Public Service Commission
• Australian Research Council
• Australian Securities and Investments Commission
• Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO)
• Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority
• Australian Sports Commission
• Australian Taxation Office
• Australian Trade Commission
• Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
• Australian Transport Safety Bureau
• Australian War Memorial
• Bureau of Meteorology
• Cancer Australia
• Centrelink
• Christmas Island Administration
• Civil Aviation Safety Authority
• Comcare Australia
• Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
• Commonwealth Grants Commission
• Commonwealth Law Courts
• Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
• ComSuper
• Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee
• CrimTrac Agency
• CRS Australia
• Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
• Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
• Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
• Department of Defence
• Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
• Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
• Department of Finance and Deregulation
• Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
• Department of Health and Ageing
• Department of Human Services
• Department of Immigration and Citizenship
• Department of Infrastructure and Transport,
• Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
• Department of Parliamentary Services
• Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government
• Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism
• Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
• Department of the Treasury
• Department of Veterans' Affairs
• Dept. Sustainable Environment, Water, Population & Communities
• Director of National Parks
• Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency
• Fair Work Australia
• Fair Work Ombudsman
• Family Court of Australia/ Family Law Courts
• Food Standards Australia New Zealand
• Geoscience Australia
• Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
• High Court of Australia
• Insolvency and Trustee Service, Australia
• IP Australia
• Law Courts Limited
• Medicare Australia
• Migration Review Tribunal-Refugee Review Tribunal
• Murray Darling Basin Authority
• National Archives of Australia
• National Blood Authority
• National Capital Authority
• National Competition Council
• National Film & Sound Archive
• National Gallery of Australia
• National Health and Medical Research Council
• National Library of Australia
• National Museum of Australia
• National Native Title Tribunal
• National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority
• National Science and Technology Centre (Questacon)
• National Water Commission
• Office of National Assessments
• Office of Parliamentary Counsel
• Office of the Australian Building and Construction Commissioner
• Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
• Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
• Office of the Inspector-General of Taxation
• Office of the Official Secretary to the Governor-General
• Old Parliament House
• Private Health Insurance Ombudsman
• Productivity Commission
• Professional Services Review Scheme
• Property Group
• Royal Australian Mint
• Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation
• Screen Australia
• Social Security Appeals Tribunal
• Special Broadcasting Service
• Superannuation Complaints Tribunal
• Takeovers Panel
• Therapeutic Goods Administration
• Torres Strait Regional Authority
• Tourism Australia
• Wheat Exports Australia